Latil TL Tractor build

Badcrumble

Supporting Member
A long time lurker and occasional poster, this is my first attempt at a scratch build.
Me being me, I haven?t made it easy on myself in my choice of 1:1 vehicle on which to base my build.

A couple of years ago I went to a local Steam Fair.
As well as honouring steam-powered vehicles, there were processions and displays of vintage farm machinery, military vehicles and classic cars.
One little tractor caught my eye. Well, two actually ? two very similar models!

IMG_20190608_163056.jpg

It was unusual in its compact stance and same-sized tyres front and rear.
?That would be cool as an RC? I thought to myself.
And then it turned.

IMG_20190608_163247.jpg

I had kittens...4WS!
It did a little donut in the centre of the parade ground and I was hooked.
What was this mechanical marvel? Research was required.

I discovered that this little tractor is French, a Latil, and a later model of an illustrious line.
They have been used in general farming, forestry, with snowploughs and reworked as commercial vehicles.
The two 1:1s at the steam fair are garaged not too far away from me.
Unfortunately, the 2021 and 2022 fairs have been cancelled in due to COVID.
I managed to get some scale drawings and measurements of the earlier models, not much changed over the iterations.
The model with the most information in the public domain is the TL10 but the ones I had seen were newer models, perhaps from the 1970s.

http://www.avant-train-latil.com/TL31.php

The TL10 has even featured in a magazine and had its own scale model. So I picked up a couple of those for reference.

E4560E96-D040-4AB6-A13B-9677FEEEE774.jpg

I started amassing parts (one of my favourite things to do), starting with RC4WD 1.9 Mud Basher tyres.
The tractor is quite unusual - not only is it 4WS, it has portal axles.
I wanted to do this on the cheap. Cheap portals? That meant looking at SCX10ii axles and 3rd party portals.