Micro MORR Corvair

ebeowulf17

Supporting Member
This is my first attempt at a build thread, and I'm not really sure it's in the right place, since this is mostly a 3D modelling/printing job with minimal hand-crafting. If the mods choose to move it, I'll totally understand.

Anyway, the origin of this vehicle is the Matt's Off-Road Recovery (MORR) YouTube channel. Their original (current) star vehicle is a customized XJ affectionately known as the yellow banana, which has already been built by several people in these forums. In the last few months, they've been working on a scratch-built serious off-roader based on a Corvair Lakewood (station wagon) body. I fell in love with the new Corvair build immediately, and I've been working on a plan ever since. At the rate their build is going, I may finish the model before they finish the 1:1!

Here's a Corvair Lakewood in good condition:
1961-Chevrolet-Corvair-Lakewood-Wagon-smaller.jpg

Here are a couple photos of their build in progress, to give a sense of what they're up to:
Screenshot_20201208-221220.jpg
Screenshot_20201214-005533.jpg
Screenshot_20201220-231833.jpg

I was able to find a good 3D model of a Corvair Lakewood as a starting point, but it was missing some details that I thought really stood out on a the Corvair. First I added the air intake vents near the back windows, and then I expanded the wheel wells, added fender flares, etc. Here's a quick snapshot of the 3D modelling evolution.
CorvairBody_1-1_19e_B4-After.jpg

Those headlight bezels in particular were an interesting challenge for me. Here's a closeup of what they should look like. Mine are definitely not right, but maybe close enough for 1:24 scale?
s-l225.jpg