Spares or Repairs Cherokee

SeanOB

HI ! I'm new here, and to the hobby in general, but thoroughly enjoying it all so far.

After getting hooked customising and driving my first RC crawler, the little scx24, I decided I would like to venture into 1:10 land.

I chose a SCX10ii raw builders kit, plus an axial Lexan Cherokee XJ body. I'm new to all of this so played it safe with a body I knew would align with the prescribed wheelbase. Plus, I really like XJs, if I could find a non rotten example in 1:1 I would fix that up too!

DSC05097 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

I decided to go a bit crazy when I spotted a deal for the Hobbywing AXE550 3300Kv motor and esc combo. With a 3S battery it really is much faster than I will likely be able to drive it, but now that I set it up properly it can also go incredibly slow and smooth.

DSC05099 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

Took a bit of battery tray trimming to fit that long motor, but no biggy.

As you might have guessed, I am going for the Junkyard Jeep look with this one.

sprayed brown primer on the inside and out, then a white primer before a nice deep blue.
DSC05135 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

After getting that nice'n pretty I sanded it down to look suitably haggard.

DSC05138 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

DSC05139 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

DSC05163 by 5EAN11, on Flickr

Really happy with it so far, will show some of the weathering detail progress next.

Frizzen

Looking really good, nice well used jeep. Probably could use some panel outlines and window gaskets with a fine sharpie

As an XJ owner:
Please take a dremel to the rockers and apply weathering.
Please lightly do the same behind rear wheelwells
Also a couple rust spots on top of roof, and below fuel filler door.

I really like the details on that body more than my Parma. Is it an Early or Late XJ?

SeanOB

Looking really good, nice well used jeep. Probably could use some panel outlines and window gaskets with a fine sharpie

As an XJ owner: